The BTE MRU offers education and research activities mainly focusing on the four following Research Areas (RA). The student choose and build the individual lectures plan in a specific RA, where he will also develop his Master thesis. Information concerning the RA and the suggested courses to build the individual plan can be found clicking at the RA specific link.

Bioengineering for Clinical Medicine

Image Bioengineering for Clinical Medicine

Bioengineering for Clinical Medicine is a research area that involves the design and development of technological products devoted to support clinicians in their daily job.

Biomolecular and Pharmaceutical Engineering

Image Biomolecular and Pharmaceutical Engineering

Biomolecular and Pharmaceutical Engineering (BPE) employs multidisciplinary principles and methods to investigate biological and synthetic systems.

Engineering for Regenerative Medicine

Image Engineering for Regenerative Medicine

Regenerative Medicine is considered the foremost multidisciplinary frontier arena of sciences and technologies that together aim at processes for replacing or regenerating human cells, tissues or organs to restore or establish normal functions

Environmental Biotechnology

Image Environmental Biotechnology

Wastewater treatment and energy from biomasses. Wastewater management is a key topic at worldwide level and water plays a vital role in key sectors of the economy at global level.

The study is composed of 90 credits (ECTS), splitted in three parts. Roughly one third of the ECTS credits are awarded for theory modules at central locations in Lausanne and Zurich. A reduced range of theory modules are also offered in Bern and Lugano. The cooperation between the Universities of Applied Sciences means that some 85 theory modules can be provided in different disciplines. The theory modules are taught by lecturers from all over Switzerland and attended by students from throughout the country. Each theory module is equivalent to three ECTS credits. There are three categories of theory module. You will find the module descriptions here.

  • TSM Modules: Technical scientific specialization
  • FTP Modules: Fundamental theoretical principles
  • CM Modules: Context modules

Two third of the ECTS credits are composed of modules related to the specialization (33 ECTS) and a Master thesis (27 ECTS).